The castle dates back to the mid-10th century. From its position on a hill with a rocky summit (the “roqueta”) it boasts an excellent view of the transitional area between the Òdena basin and Conca de Barberà.
The remains of structures (possibly a tower) can be seen at the highest part of the hill. Just below, there is a walled enclosure containing the residential quarters and the small chapel of Sant Miquel.
The castle was in the hands of the Cervelló-Alamany family between the 11th and 13th centuries. It was then donated to the monastery of Santes Creus. Its castellans included the Montagut, Orpí and Avinyó families.
In 1043, Abbot Oliba, who as bishop of Vic was ultimately the lord of Roqueta Castle, took part in the consecration of the chapel of Sant Miquel, located inside the castle.